“A fresh new fantasy of an enchanting world.”
– Wendy Orr, author of Nim’s Island and Dragonfly Song

Welcome! I’m Elizabeth Foster, author of the Esme trilogy, an MG-YA fantasy series perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Narnia. Scroll down this page to learn more and check out reader reviews under the book pages.

I’m pleased to announced that Esme’s Gift, the most recent book in the series, has won both an IPPY medal (for best YA fiction) and a Purple Dragonfly Book award (for best fantasy).

Esme’s Wish and the sequel, Esme’s Gift are available worldwide in either print or e-book at Amazon or at other online outlets. For U.S. readers, there’s also Bookshop, a new online venture set up specifically to support local, independent bookstores.

For teachers and librarians:

Comprehensive teachers’ notes for Esme’s Wish are available here. Esme’s Wish has a Lexile rating of 790.

You can order a printed copy of Esme’s Wish or Esme’s Gift from Novella Distribution or through James Bennett.

Esme’s Wish

When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father’s wedding, her protest is dismissed as the actions of a stubborn, selfish teenager. Everyone else has accepted the loss of Esme’s mother – so why can’t she?

But Esme is suspicious. She is sure that others are covering up the real reason for her mother’s disappearance – that ‘lost at sea’ is code for something more terrible, something she has a right to know.

After Esme is accidentally swept into the enchanted world of Aeolia, the truth begins to unfold. Esme soon discovers that her mother, Ariane – a talented painter of myths and legends – once led a secret second life in the crumbling canal city of Esperance. The more Esme discovers about Ariane, the more she questions whether she really knew her mother at all…

Esme’s Wish, a fantasy with a mystery at its heart, leads the reader into a beguiling world to which they’ll want to return again and again.

Now, nothing else mattered. She had found the place her mother had whispered of, the place sewn into the fabric of her dreams.

- Esme's Wish

Esme’s Gift

In the enchanted world of Aeolia, fifteen-year-old Esme Silver faces her hardest task yet. She must master her unruly Gift–the power to observe the past–and uncover the secrets she needs to save her mother, Ariane.

In between attending school in the beguiling canal city of Esperance, Esme and her friends–old and new–travel far and wide across Aeolia, gathering the ingredients for a potent magical elixir.

Their journey takes them to volcanic isles, sunken ruins and snowy eyries, spectacular places fraught with danger, where they must face their deepest fears and find hope in the darkest of places.

Esme’s Gift, the second instalment in the Esme trilogy, is a gripping fantasy adventure for readers 12 years and over.

Terror was within. Terror was without.
Like her mother, she was at the water’s mercy.

- Esme's Gift

Praise for the Esme Series

“I originally picked up this book because I heard it had been compared to Percy Jackson and I’m a sucker for good mythology. Esme’s Wish, however, outdid my expectations. Foster wove together a new world full of the old myths as well as original ones. From dragons, to sirens, to magical gifts, Esme’s world is beautifully constructed. If you held me at golden sword point and demanded I compare this work with another I’d say it can’t be compared. In my own opinion, it’s a lovely new world that stands alone and high above others. Though it had elements of Percy Jackson, the Last Airbender, and Greek myths.”

- Amazon U.S.

“I really liked this series (cant wait for the 3rd one to come out!!) It had the magic of Narnia but the mystery of a detective novel. This is exactly the type of story I would have LOVED as a tween but still found entertaining as an adult woman. I would highly recommend this to anyone who does NOT need any romance to make a story great (because there is none in this series as of yet).”

- Megan Reither, Amazon U.S.

I thoroughly enjoyed journeying with Esme and her friends again. I found this book to be like a good long hug from an old friend. It lifted my spirits immensely… a story of friendship, a story of love, a story of never giving up and never losing hope. I would recommend to lovers of YA fantasy like Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and The Medoran Chronicles.”

- Sarah Says

Pin It on Pinterest